Faculty

Current CEERES faculty are drawn from 14 disciplines in the humanities, 6 in the social and natural sciences, and 6 professional schools with expertise in almost every country and region of the CEERES area.

CEERES strives to make connections between faculty across disciplines, the result of which has been some excellent interdisciplinary programming. While we make every attempt to introduce ourselves to new faculty and visiting scholars whose teaching or research touches upon CEERES languages and cultures, we know that our roster may not be comprehensive.

If you or someone you know should be added to our list of affiliated faculty, please let us know. We welcome all faculty into our CEERES community.

Helga Anetshofer

Lecturer in Turkish and Ottoman, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
anetshofer@uchicago.edu

Kagan Arik

Ayaslı Lecturer in Modern Turkish and Turkic languages, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
kagana@uchicago.edu
Pick Hall 306

Mark Baugher

Lecturer in Russian, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures
mbaugher@uchicago.edu
Foster 417

Robert Bird

Professor, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures; Department of Cinema and Media Studies; The College, Fundamentals: Issues and Texts
bird@uchicago.edu
Foster 416

Philip V. Bohlman

Ludwig Rosenberger Distinguished Service Professor in Jewish History, Music and the Humanities in the College; Associate Faculty, Divinity School
boh6@uchicago.edu
Goodspeed 211

John W. Boyer

Martin A. Ryerson Distinguished Service Professor of History and the College
Dean, The College
jwboyer@uchicago.edu
Harper Memorial Library 247

Irena Cajkova

Instructional Professor, Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
icajkova@uchicago.edu
Gates-Blake 226

Leah Feldman

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Literature
feldmanl@uchicago.edu
Foster 401

Susan Gal

Mae & Sidney G. Metzl Distinguished Service Professor of Anthropology, Linguistics, and of Social Sciences, Department of Anthropology
s-gal@uchicago.edu
Haskell 237

Leonid A. Gavrilov

Senior Research Scientist, Center on the Demography and Economics of Aging, NORC
gavrilov-leonid@norc.uchicago.edu

Natalia Gavrilova

Senior Research Associate, Center on the Demography and Economics of Aging, NORC
nsgavril@uchicago.edu

Eleonory Gilburd

Assistant Professor of History and the College, Department of History
egilburd@uchicago.edu
Social Sciences Research Building 515

Thomas Ginsburg

Leo Spitz Professor of International Law, The Law School; Department of Political Science
tginsburg@uchicago.edu
Law 525

Andreas Glaeser

Professor, Department of Sociology
a-glaeser@uchicago.edu
Social Sciences 401 D-E

Lenore Grenoble

John Matthews Manly Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Linguistics
Chair, Department of Linguistics
grenoble@uchicago.edu
Rosenwald 214

Jonathan M. Hall

Phyllis Fay Horton Distinguished Service Professor in the Humanities; Professor of History, Classics, and the College
jhall@uchicago.edu
Wieboldt 403

Hripsime Haroutunian

Instructional Professor, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
h-haroutunian@uchicago.edu
Pick Hall 213

Faith Hillis

Associate Professor of Russian History and the College, Department of History
hillis@uchicago.edu
Social Sciences Research Building 508

Erik Houle

Lecturer & Slavic Languages Program Coordinator, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures
erhoule@uchicago.edu

Angelina Ilieva

Lecturer in Balkan and South Slavic Literature, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures
ilievaa@uchicago.edu
Foster 411

Leyla Ismayilova

Associate Professor, School of Social Service Administration
leyla@uchicago.edu

Matthew J. Jackson

Associate Professor Art History, Visual Arts, and the College, Department of Art History
Chair, Department of Visual Arts
mjjacksn@uchicago.edu
Cochrane Woods Art Center 262

Larisa Jasarevic

Senior Lecturer, Global Studies Program
jasarevic@uchicago.edu
Gates-Blake 123

Hakan Karateke

Professor of Ottoman and Turkish Culture, Language, and Literature, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
karateke@uchicago.edu
Pick Hall 217

Owen Kohl

Assistant Instructional Professor, Global Studies Program
owenkohl@uchicago.edu
Gates-Blake 122

James A. Leitzel

Senior Lecturer, Harris School and the College
Executive Director of Public Policy Studies, The College
j-leitzel@uchicago.edu

Darryl Li

Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Social Sciences in the College, Department of Anthropology; Lecturer in Law, The Law School
darrylli@uchicago.edu
Haskell 216

Sasha Lindskog

Polish Lecturer, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures
lindskog@uchicago.edu
Foster 410

John J. Mearsheimer

R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science, Department of Political Science
j-mearsheimer@uchicago.edu
Pick Hall 416

Jason Merchant

Lorna Puttkammer Straus Professor, Department of Linguistics
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
merchant@uchicago.edu
Rosenwald 205C

Monika Nalepa

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
mnalepa@uchicago.edu
Pick Hall 324A

William Nickell

Associate Professor, Department of Slavic Languages & Literature
Chair, Department of Slavic Languages & Literature
wnickell@uchicago.edu
Foster 402

James Osborne

Assistant Professor of Anatolian Archaeology, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
jamesosborne@uchicago.edu
The Oriental Institute 230

Nada Petkovic-Djordjevic

Lecturer of Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures
petkovic@uchicago.edu
Foster 410

Valentina Pichugin

Senior Lecturer of Russian, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
vpichugi@uchicago.edu
Foster 414

Eric A. Posner

Kirkland & Ellis Distinguished Service Professor of Law, The Law School
eric_posner@law.uchicago.edu

Eugene Raikhel

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Human Development; Director, Center for East European and Russian/Eurasian Studies
eraikhel@uchicago.edu
Rosenwald 318C

Bozena Shallcross

Professor of Polish Language and Literature, Department of Slavic Language & Literatures
bshallcr@uchicago.edu
Foster 508

A. Holly Shissler

Associate Professor of Ottoman and Modern Turkish History, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
ashissle@uchicago.edu
Pick Hall 215

Olga Solovieva

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Literature
solovieva@uchicago.edu
Wieboldt 412

Konstantin Sonin

John Dewey Distinguished Service Professor, The Harris School of Public Policy
ksonin@uchicago.edu
Harris 2023

Malynne Sternstein

Associate Professor, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
msternst@uchicago.edu
Foster 409

Anna Elena Torres

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Literature
aetorres@uchicago.edu
Foster 403

Robert W. Vishny

Myron S. Scholes Distinguished Service Professor of Finance, Booth School of Business
robert.vishny@chicagobooth.edu

Tasha Vorderstrasse

University and Continuing Education Program Coordinator, The Oriental Institute; Research Associate, Islamic Archaeology Publication Project
tkvorder@uchicago.edu

John E. Woods

Professor of Iranian and Central Asian History, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, and the College, Department of History
j-woods@uchicago.edu
Pick Hall 328

Alan C.L. Yu

Professor, Department of Linguistics
aclyu@uchicago.edu
Rosenwald 205F

Tara Zahra

Homer J. Livingston Professor of East European History and the College, Department of History
tzahra@uchicago.edu
Social Science Research 503